Dismiss Notice
Some Razer services have been impacted due to the unique circumstances COVID-19 has created. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding during this critical time.

Warning: Potentially fake Razer Store

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GaugePrower, Mar 18, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GaugePrower

    GaugePrower Member

    There is a Facebook ad circulating around promoting a FREE Razer Goliathus from a website that is obviously claiming to be owned or operated by Razer. I'm sure Razer doesn't use a shopify template as they have a dedicated web development team to design their store.

    The website in question is "www.Razer-Gaming.com". They are saying you must pay shipping (get ripped off) to receive the mouse pad. Just be aware, I'm pretty sure this is a fake site as it just screams suspicious all over it. They are also using Razer logos in their advertisements. The About us page points to a 404 not found, and there are some simple spelling mistakes all over the place, which leads me to believe that English is not the primary language of the site owner.
  2. Psyjin

    Psyjin Well-Known Member

    Yeah...not to mention the whole thing is just ugly.

    :heavy_check_mark: Centered paragraph blocks
    :heavy_check_mark: Wild and inconsistent use of fonts (I count 5+ ?)
    :heavy_check_mark: Use of serif fonts
    :heavy_check_mark: White background
    :heavy_check_mark: Old Razer logo

    They better step up their game if they want to impersonate Razer because no one's going to be fooled by that!
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2016
    Edown and VikasG like this.
  3. jak3_B

    jak3_B Member

    Thank you for looking out for your fellow Razer fans and not letting these guys get away with this stuff
  4. jak3_B

    jak3_B Member

    so I just checked this website out and they should at least put some effort into their scam I mean dang. Not that I condone scamming at all but if you are going use the right logo. well lets just this gets taken down.
  5. VikariousOne

    VikariousOne Well-Known Member

    Thanks for posting this! I'm glad you informed the rest of the forum. Though this one is fairly obvious, make sure follow the criteria @Raijin mentioned before trusting the site. Even if the replica is near-perfect, post on this forum if you have the slightest bit of doubt as Razer is one of the most "knocked-off" brands in the world and many people will benefit from scam reports such as this!
  6. Active13245

    Active13245 Active Member

    Hahah Goliathus for free XDDD That white background tho....
    Raijin likes this.
  7. Overtask

    Overtask Well-Known Member

  8. VikariousOne

    VikariousOne Well-Known Member

    Okay, I looked through and (for fun) went through the checkout options entering in fake names and addresses. Even if it was legitimate and would send you the mouse mat. It's more expensive! :joy: The mouse mat is free but shipping is $24.99. The Goliathus is only $13.99 on the official Razer website.
  9. mltan

    mltan CEO Staff Member

    This isn't official from us (clearly) - thanks for the heads up - we'll do something about it.
  10. Burgz

    Burgz Well-Known Member

    To be fooled by this - you probably deserve it.

    There are SO many warning signs.

    Come on! :neutral_face:
  11. VikariousOne

    VikariousOne Well-Known Member

    You're right, but better safe than sorry right?


    The world we live in nowadays...
  12. Burgz

    Burgz Well-Known Member

    Well, it's pretty fair to say so.

    The internet can teach you some amazing lessons.
    AlKiRi and VikasG like this.
  13. Overtask

    Overtask Well-Known Member

    And there comes the DMCA:big_grin_:
    Ziki <3 likes this.
  14. Blockmonster57

    Blockmonster57 Active Member

    I'd rate a free mouse mat. And a computer virus ._.
  15. Blockmonster57

    Blockmonster57 Active Member

    Lesson #1: I have no faith in humanity no more...
  16. Active13245

    Active13245 Active Member

    Faith dies as a last one :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:
  17. Burgz

    Burgz Well-Known Member

    It's a reasonable statement! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye_:

  18. Jdigs

    Jdigs Member

    man I wanted to see it, but I think its gone. :slightly_sad:
  19. Burgz

    Burgz Well-Known Member

    The website is still ALIVE (at least for me).

    TomCR94 likes this.
  20. Yup still alive and kicking.

    The © symbol and the Paypal logo make it look sooooo official though, so do the spelling mistakes and the headache I have from all the fonts
    Burgz likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Sign In with Razer ID >

Don't have a Razer ID yet?
Get Razer ID >